Passing on NaNo

I was hoping to be able to do NaNo this year, although I have to admit I was also pretty apprehensive. It’s been a weird-ass year and I’ve found it very difficult to write much at all, but I figured maybe I just need to force it out for a month.

Well, work put a stop to that idea anyway. I’ve been asked to re-write the practical course I usually run for the A level biology independent candidates so that it’s more covid-safe. That’s going to take up a huge chunk of the first 2 weeks of November, and I’m sure there’ll be extras added afterwards to take up the second half of the month.

Usually I can make it work. I’ve actually run the practical courses while also completing NaNo in the past! But I think my mojo was a little more co-operative than it is now, and I don’t want to push it. Instead I’m going to try to stick to 200 words a day minimum, so while it might still mean forcing it out, it shouldn’t be too much like pulling teeth!

I’ll be cheering on all the other NaNo-ites from the sidelines!

Leave a comment